Iowa Wins the Big Ten Tournament

Iowa is the Big Ten Tournament Champs

Iowa Hawkeyes wins the Big Ten Tournament. The Hot Hawkeyes beat Purdue 75-66 in the finals. Keegan Murray scored 19 points and had 11 rebounds to lead the Hawkeyes to their first tournament title since 2006. Tony Perkins scored 11 points with four assists and four rebounds, playing in his hometown. Payton Sandfort scored 10 points from the bench to give Iowa a needed boost.

Jaden Ivey scored a tough 20 points, which were a game-high. Zack Edey had 12 points with 14 rebounds, and Treyvion Williams also had a double-double scoring 13 points and 11 rebounds.

Three-point shooting hurt Purdue as they shot only 25% behind the arc. Sasha Stefanovic, who has been old the whole tournament, went 1 for 8 from three-point range. Purdue 2 for 11 in the fourth quarter shooting the three.

Purdue had a chance late going on a 7-0 run that took 45 seconds with 3:13 left in the game to cut the Iowa lead down to 63-62. they could not get over the hump to complete the comeback. Iowa hit some free throws after a few fouls by Purdue and went up by 8 with about a minute to go, and that was it for Purdue. Iowa wins.

Iowa will be a #5 seed in the NCAA Tournament and will play Richmond in Buffalo, New York. Purdue gets a #3 seed and will be playing in Milwaukee, Wisconsin versus Yale.

Photo gallery: Iowa vs Purdue photos


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.