Purdue’s Binckes and Moffitt Named NCAA Woman of the Year Nominees


Purdue graduates Alexa Binckes and Janae’ Moffitt were nominated for the 2020 NCAA Woman of the Year Award, the NCAA announced today.

Binckes, of the softball team, and Moffitt, a member of the track & field program, are two of 605 nominees for the award across all three NCAA divisions. The Boilermaker duo represent two of 12 nominees from Big Ten Conference institutions.

Both Binckes and Moffitt have earned Big Ten Distinguished Scholar accolades and Academic All-Big Ten honors in their careers. Binckes majored as a Health Sciences Pre-Professional, while Moffitt graduated from Purdue with a degree in ECE and Exceptional Needs.

Binckes concluded her Purdue softball career with 17 runs, 71 hits and 61 RBI. A catcher, the December 2019 graduate tallied 390 putouts over her four seasons as a Boilermaker. As a senior, the Ashburn, Virginia, native played in 20 of the team’s 25 games, including an integral role in the Boilermakers’ 1-0 victory over RV North Carolina (2/22/20). Contributing on both sides of the plate during the 2020 season, Binckes accumulated a .324 slugging % and a 1.000 fielding % for Purdue.

A 2020 Big Ten Medal of Honor recipient and five-time All-American, Moffitt concluded a historic career with a championship-caliber senior campaign in the high jump. She won her fourth overall Big Ten title and third indoors to become the third woman in conference history to win three or more indoor high jump titles. Moffitt qualified for her fifth NCAA Championships in 2020 and is a seven-time All-Big Ten honoree. A native of Marion, Indiana, she is No. 3 in Purdue history in the indoor high jump is tied for No. 4 in the outdoor high jump.

Rooted in Title IX, the NCAA Woman of the Year Award was established in 1991 to recognize graduating female student-athletes who have exhausted their eligibility and distinguished themselves in academics, athletics, service and leadership throughout their collegiate careers.

Conference offices will select up to two nominees each from their pool of membership institution nominees. Then, the Woman of the Year selection committee, made up of representatives from the NCAA membership, will choose the Top 30 honorees — 10 from each division.

From the Top 30, the Woman of the Year selection committee will determine the top three honorees in each division and announce nine finalists. The NCAA Committee on Women’s Athletics then will choose the 2020 NCAA Woman of the Year, who will be named this fall.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.