Fryfogle announced as Biletnikoff Award Semifinalist


Indiana senior wide receiver Ty Fryfogle is one of 11 semifinalists for the Biletnikoff Award, the Tallahassee Quarterback Club (TQC) Foundation, Inc., announced Monday afternoon. Fryfogle is the first Hoosier named a semifinalist since James Hardy in 2007.

The Biletnikoff Award annually recognizes the college football season’s outstanding FBS receiver. Any player, regardless of position (wide receiver, tight end, slot back, and running back) who catches a pass is eligible for the award. As such, the Biletnikoff Award recognizes college football’s outstanding receiver, not merely college football’s outstanding wide receiver.

Below is a list of the semifinalists:

Ty Fryfogle, Indiana
Jonathan Adams Jr., Arkansas State
Dyami Brown, North Carolina
Jaelon Darden, North Texas
Dax Milne, BYU
Elijah Moore, Ole Miss
Kyle Pitts, Florida
Amari Rodgers, Clemson
DeVonta Smith, Alabama
Tylan Wallace, Oklahoma State
Malon Williams, UCF

Fryfogle leads the team with 687 yards (1st in the Big Ten, 23rd nationally), seven touchdowns (2nd, T-20th), 20.2 yards per grab (3rd, 17th) and 98.1 yards per game (4th, 25th), and he is second with 34 receptions (T-9th).

The Lucedale, Miss., native tops the B1G in 20-plus yard grabs (13, T-16th nationally), 30-yarders (7, T-18th) and 60-yarders (tied with 2, T-4th), and he is second in 40-yarders (3, T-35th) and 50-yarders (3, T-11th).

Fryfogle became the first receiver in Big Ten history to record back-to-back 200-yard games, the first Indiana wideout to reach 200 yards twice and the first Hoosier since Nate Sudfeld (2015) to claim back-to-back Big Ten Offensive Player of the Week honors.

At No. 3 Ohio State, he hauled in seven passes for 218 yards (5th in program history, 1st in the Big Ten/12th nationally in 2020) and three TDs (T-2nd in program history, T-1st in Big Ten/T-5th nationally in 2020). Fryfogle’s 218 yards were the third-highest total ever vs. the Buckeyes, the most by a Hoosier vs. OSU and the fifth-highest total in school history.

The previous week at Michigan State, he set a career-high with 11 catchess (T-4th in the Big Ten in 2020) for 200 yards (2nd), eighth in program history, and reached the end zone twice, including a career-long 65-yarder. Fryfogle’s 178 first-half yards marked the most by a conference player (Roy Roundtree, Michigan) since 2010.

The semifinalists, finalists, and award recipient are selected by the highly distinguished Biletnikoff Award National Selection Committee, a group of prominent college football journalists, commentators, announcers, Biletnikoff Award winners, and other former receivers. Foundation trustees do not vote and have never voted. For a list of voters, please see

The Biletnikoff Award candidate eligibility and voting criteria, transparently explicit and detailed, are available for review at

Recently, the Tallahassee Quarterback Club Foundation opened the 2020 FanVote. Every fan may vote once daily on the Biletnikoff Award FanVote page. The aggregate fan tally will be counted as one official vote to determine semifinalists, finalists (three receivers), and the winner. In the closest contest in years, the FanVote tally provided the one-vote margin of victory for 2013 winner Brandin Cooks of Oregon State.

The 2020 Biletnikoff Award winner will be presented the Biletnikoff Award trophy by TQC Foundation Chairman George Avant, Jr., keynoter and college hall of famer Chad Hennings, and college and pro football hall of famer Fred Biletnikoff the Biletnikoff Award celebration/presentation at the University Center Club at Doak Campbell Stadium in Tallahassee on Saturday, March 6, 2021. The banquet was hailed by 2014 keynote speaker Dick Vermeil, as well as by 2013 keynoter Larry Csonka, as “the best banquet in college sports.”

The banquet has featured distinguished keynoters of profound character and accomplishments including the late Bart Starr, Dick Vermeil, Floyd Little, Larry Csonka, Steve Largent, Mike Ditka, the late Don Shula, Dan Reeves, Archie Manning, Ron Jaworski, Gene Stallings, Bob Griese, Bill Curry, Bobby Bowden, Jim Kelly, Jerry Kramer, Joe Theismann, Dan Fouts, Lou Holtz, and Aaron Taylor.

The TQC Foundation’s charitable mission is the provision of college and vocational scholarships to North Florida high school seniors who have overcome significant barriers to achieve at the highest academic and extracurricular levels. Participation in sports is not a requirement. The Foundation has provided many millions of dollars for several hundreds of scholarships and related benefits through 2020.

The name Biletnikoff is synonymous with the term receiver. Fred Biletnikoff, a member of the pro and college football halls of fame, was a consensus All-America receiver at Florida State University, and an All-Pro receiver for the Oakland Raiders. He caught 589 passes for 8,974 yards and 76 touchdowns in his 14-year Raiders career from 1965 through 1978. Fred was the Most Valuable Player of Super Bowl XI.

The TQC Foundation, Inc., is an independent, charitable organization that was founded in 1994. Past Chairman & Founding Trustee Professor Walter W. Manley II, Founding Trustee L. Thomas Cox, Jr., Founding Trustee Rocky Bevis, and Founding Trustee Bob Teel established the award and the TQC Foundation, Inc., that sponsors it. Many more trustees have contributed to its development as one of the most prominent awards in college football. The TQC Foundation, Inc., joined the idea of a college receiver’s award to the organization’s vision and created the outstanding award and dynamic organization.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.