Ali Patberg Named Finalist For Senior CLASS Award


Ali Patberg has been named one of 10 finalists for the Senior CLASS Award, becoming the Hoosiers’ third finalist in five seasons, joining Tyra Buss (2018) and Brenna Wise (2020).

To be eligible for the award, student-athletes must be classified as NCAA Division I seniors or graduate-students and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character and competition.

Patberg, who is in her seventh and final year of eligibility, currently ranks ninth in school history in scoring (1,613) and third in assists (486) as she’s helped her No. 7 Hoosiers to a 17-3 overall record this season. Currently averaging, 12.3 points per game, the Columbus, Ind. native also adds 3.5 assists, 3.1 rebounds and holds a +2.0 assist-to-turnover ratio. She shoots 43.1 percent from the floor and has scored in double figures 15 times.

She graduated from Indiana’s world-renowned Kelley School of Business in May 2020 with a degree in finance where she held a 3.7 GPA and is currently pursuing a master’s degree in recreational administration where she holds a 3.9 GPA. She is a three-time Academic All-Big Ten selection, three-time CoSIDA Academic All-District honoree and 2021 CoSIDA Academic All-American and two-time Big Ten Distinguished Scholar.

Patberg has dedicated her time to countless volunteer outreach programs during her time including Candy Stripe Crew, Habitat for Humanity Build, Camp Riley Hoosiers Outrun Cancer, Salvation Army Kettlebell Kick-Off, Fairview Hoosier Readers, Fairview recess buddies and Read Across America.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their athletic platforms to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities. 

The finalists were chosen by a selection committee from the list of 30 men’s candidates and 30 women’s candidates announced earlier in the season. Nationwide fan voting begins immediately to help select the winner, and fans are encouraged to submit votes online at the Senior CLASS Award website through March 21. Fan votes will be combined with those of the media and Division I head coaches to determine the winners. The Senior CLASS Award recipients will be announced during the 2022 NCAA Men’s Final Four® and NCAA Women’s Final Four®.

2021-22 Senior CLASS Award Women’s Basketball Finalists

Elissa Cunane, NC State                                                      Sonya Morris, DePaul

Naz Hillmon, Michigan                                                    Ali Patberg, Indiana

Rhyne Howard, Kentucky                                                   NaLyssa Smith, Baylor

Lexie Hull, Stanford                                                             Sam Thomas, Arizona

Morgan Jones, Florida State                                              Macee Williams, IUPUI

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.