Butler’s Kamar Baldwin Named to Naismith Trophy Watch List

Courtesy of Butler Athletics

Butler junior Kamar Baldwin is among the 50 players selected to the watch list for the 2019 Citizen Naismith Trophy Men’s Player of the Year honor. The list was announced by the Atlanta Tipoff Club Monday, Nov. 5.

Baldwin’s standout 2017-18 campaign propelled the 6-1 guard to a unanimous selection on the preseason All-BIG EAST team. As a sophomore, he averaged 15.7 points, 4.9 rebounds, 3.2 assists and 1.5 steals. He was even more productive in BIG EAST play as his averages increased to 16.6 points and 5.2 rebounds per conference contest. Baldwin also earned a spot on the 2018 BIG EAST All-Tournament Team thanks in large part to a career-high 32-point outburst against Seton Hall in the quarterfinals. His 893 points through his first two seasons at Butler are the fourth-most in program history.

A list of the midseason 30 team will be released on Feb. 13, 2019, followed by the 10 national semifinalists and four finalists on March 4, 2019 and March 19, 2019 respectively. The 2019 Citizen Naismith Trophy will be awarded on at the Naismith Awards Brunch on April 7, 2019, during the Final Four in Minneapolis.

“This time of year is filled with excitement, optimism and anticipation as each team is undefeated and the race for the Citizen Naismith Trophy is wide open. These 50 candidates are ones to keep an eye on, but there will be plenty of others who will enter the competition throughout the season,” said Eric Oberman, executive director of the Atlanta Tipoff Club. “It’s great to have the season tipping off tomorrow.”

Butler opens the 2018-19 regular season Saturday, hosting Miami (Ohio) at Hinkle Fieldhouse.

2019 Citizen Naismith Trophy Men’s Preseason Watch List

Kamar Baldwin Jr. G Butler BIG EAST
R.J. Barrett Fr. F Duke ACC
Tyus Battle Jr. G Syracuse ACC
Bennie Boatwright Sr. F USC Pac-12
Bol Bol Fr. C Oregon Pac-12
Phil Booth Sr. G Villanova BIG EAST
Ky Bowman Jr. G Boston College ACC
Barry Brown Sr. G Kansas State Big 12
Jordan Caroline Sr. G/F Nevada Mountain West
Clayton Custer Sr. G Loyola of Chicago Missouri Valley
Mike Daum Sr. F South Dakota State Summit League
Carsen Edwards Jr. G Purdue Big Ten
Jon Elmore Sr. G Marshall Conference USA
Daniel Gafford So. F Arkansas SEC
Darius Garland Fr. G Vanderbilt SEC
Jessie Govan Sr. C Georgetown BIG EAST
Kellan Grady So. G Davidson Atlantic 10
Quentin Grimes Fr. G Kansas Big 12
Kyle Guy Jr. G Virginia ACC
Rui Hachimura Jr. F Gonzaga WCC
Ethan Happ Sr. F Wisconsin Big Ten
Markus Howard Jr. G Marquette BIG EAST
De’Andre Hunter So. G Virginia ACC
Keldon Johnson Fr. G Kentucky SEC
Sagaba Konate Jr. F West Virginia Big 12
Romeo Langford Fr. G Indiana Big Ten
Dedric Lawson Jr. F Kansas Big 12
Nassir Little Fr. F North Carolina ACC
Caleb Martin Sr. F Nevada Mountain West
Charles Matthews Sr. G Michigan Big Ten
Luke Maye Sr. F North Carolina ACC
Juwan Morgan Sr. F Indiana Big Ten
Jordan Murphy Sr. F Minnesota Big Ten
James Palmer Jr. Sr. G Nebraska Big Ten
Eric Paschall Sr. F Villanova BIG EAST
Shamorie Ponds Jr. G St. John’s BIG EAST
Cam Reddish Fr. F Duke ACC
Justin Robinson Sr. G Virginia Tech ACC
Admiral Schofield Sr. G Tennessee SEC
Chris Silva Sr. F South Carolina SEC
Killian Tillie Jr. F Gonzaga WCC
Reid Travis Sr. F Kentucky SEC
Dean Wade Sr. F Kansas State Big 12
P.J. Washington So. F Kentucky SEC
Tremont Waters So. G LSU SEC
Lindell Wigginton So. G Iowa State Big 12
Kris Wilkes So. G UCLA Pac-12
Grant Williams Jr. F Tennessee SEC
Zion Williamson Fr. F Duke ACC
Cassius Winston Jr. G Michigan State Big Ten


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.