Indiana’s Kane Wommack named Broyles Award Semifinalist


Indiana defensive coordinator Kane Wommack is one of 15 semifinalists for the Broyles Award, which honors college football’s top assistant coaches, the Frank & Barbara Broyles Foundation announced Tuesday afternoon. Wommack is the Hoosiers second semifinalist in as many years (Kalen DeBoer).

The 15 semifinalists include:

INDIANA, Kane Wommack, Defensive Coordinator / LB 
ALABAMA, Steve Sarkisian, Offensive Coordinator / QB
BYU, Jeff Grimes, Offensive Coordinator
CINCINNATI, Marcus Freeman, Defensive Coordinator / LB
COASTAL CAROLINA, Chad Staggs, Defensive Coordinator / LB
FLORIDA, Brian Johnson, Offensive Coordinator / QB
IOWA, Phil Parker, Defensive Coordinator / Secondaries
IOWA STATE, Tom Manning, Offensive Coordinator / TE
MIAMI, Rhett Lashlee, Offensive Coordinator / QB
NORTH CAROLINA, Phil Longo, Offensive Coordinator / QB / TE
NORTHWESTERN, Mike Hankwitz, Defensive Coordinator
NOTRE DAME, Clark Lea, Defensive Coordinator / LB
OHIO STATE, Brian Hartline, Wide Receivers
OLE MISS, Jeff Lebby, Offensive Coordinator / QB
TEXAS A&M, Mike Elko, Defensive Coordinator / S

Wommack was named the head coach at South Alabama on Sunday, Dec. 13. He will coach IU through the completion of its season.

The youngest FBS head coach, Wommack (33) has his charges leading the Big Ten in interceptions (17, 1st nationally), opponent red zone scores (57.9, 1st), takeaways (20, T-8th) and sacks (3.3, 9th), fourth in opponent passing efficiency (115.7, 19th), scoring defense (19.4, 20th), opponent completion percentage (57.1, T-28th) and opponent third-down conversions (36.7, 32nd), fifth in total defense (361.7, 37th) and sixth in rush defense (135.7, 36th).

Below are some of the defense’s additional achievements under his guidance:

•Indiana’s 17 picks are tied for the third-most in school history (19 in 1998 and 2007).
•In its 24-0 shutout of Michigan State, IU did not allow the Spartans to advance beyond the Hoosiers 38-yard line, limited them to 191 yards (60 rushing) and recorded four takeaways (3 INTs) for the first time since Nov. 10, 2018.
•Indiana’s five shutouts since the start of 2017 share first nationally with Alabama, Georgia, Virginia Tech and Wisconsin.
•IU limited No. 16 Wisconsin to six points, the fewest points the Badgers have scored in the series since 1992 (3) and the first time they failed to reach the end zone since Oct. 3, 2015, vs. Iowa.
•Over the past two seasons, the Hoosiers have held six opponents, including four Big Ten teams, to six points or fewer, the most in the league. Wisconsin ranks second (4) with Ohio State and Iowa in third (3).
•Indiana created two takeaways (1 INT, 1 FR) for the ninth-straight game, a program record.
•IU has at least one takeaway in 36 of the last 38 games, including each of the last 15, a school record, and it has an interception in a program-record 10-straight contests.
•The Hoosiers have scored 65 points off of their 20 takeaways.
•Indiana picked off three passes for the fourth time this season and for the third time in as many games in the Maryland win, which is believed to be a school record, and was the longest streak in the B1G since Wisconsin in 2016.
•It also recorded three INTs at Rutgers, at MSU and at No. 3 Ohio State.
•IU had a pair of picks in a program-record seven-straight games and became the first team since Oklahoma State in 2011 with at least two interceptions in six-consecutive games in the same year, also a school record.
•The Hoosiers held the Wolverines to just 13 yards rushing, believed to be the lowest yardage output by a Michigan team in 69 games in the series.
•U-M’s 13 rushing yards were the lowest allowed by Indiana since William & Mary (-32) on Aug. 31, 2002, and the fewest by a B1G foe since Purdue (-8) on Nov. 24, 2001.

A selection committee of distinguished former head coaches, broadcasters, and a committee representing the FWAA narrowed the list of nominees to 15 semifinalists. Five finalists will be selected from the list of semifinalists then an overall winner.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.